Anthology of my thoughts and experiences.

Mostly gaming and other hobbies, interspersed with a little bit of the serious stuff.

Short but sweet. My fave games by console/system I have owned or played.

List time:

Super Nintendo/Snes.  I can’t believe I used to be able to put up with the sound baby Mario made, but my fave was Yoshi’s Island.

Sega Mega Drive. Not Sonic, believe it or not, my fave was The Lion king. Oh to be 5 years old and in love with Disney.

Playstation (original). Resident Evil, nothing like getting the 8 year olds used to sh**ing their pants early, when I fell off my bike and nearly took my knee cap off unsurprisingly the blood didn’t bother me so much after playing this game. And I still don’t know how I got my hands on a copy.

Playstaion 2. Tough call, I liked more PS2 games than any other console, but it has to be Final Fantasy X/10.

Xbox360. I kinda skipped the original Xbox so I have to start with it’s sequel, no prizes for guessing my fave was Halo 2.

(I still have not saved the money for a PS3, let alone the new PS4 and neither can I afford the new Xbox one, tragically it’s become uneconomical to buy new consoles and easier to go to PC games, new parts and software to update a tower is way cheaper.)
It’s not really fair to just lump all PC games into the same category because like consoles the system requirements have changed over the years. So I will now list my fave PC games as I played them over the years ging up the OS list.

Win 95′. How pathetic does it sound that I liked Burgertime as my first PC game?

Win 98. The addictive Creatures (Deluxe edition) wins hands down. I even still have the disc after all these years.

Win XP.  This was a tough one, I had to pick a fave from my time when I used XP, but well I used XP for 10 years  (tried, hated, and pretty much skipped Vista) so there was a lot of choice. I wanted to say my fave for this time period was Quake but you know what? Pre Origin, EA published a good game once upon a time and that was Black & White. And I liked it.

Windows 7. VERY late in the game I tried WoW, it was… meh, You think by now they could have fixed the graphics with patches alone. Also how come in the 2010’s can there still be an MMO where you can’t attack and run at the same time?! Guild Wars was where it was at, it held my attention, and the community had the feel good factor, also you could perform two actions at the same time (WoW, was fine, but it’s dated) and mechanics are always a big factor.

.
.

.index

.

.

.

(This is my last post before Xmas by the way, so any gamers out there, hope you get the games on your wish list. =D  )

5 comments on “Short but sweet. My fave games by console/system I have owned or played.

  1. Mehster
    December 22, 2014

    Guild Wars!! Brilliant game, have you played the sequel? I was a bit disappointed with it.

    • mathie
      December 22, 2014

      I play the sequel yes, I find there are some meh moments after level 80 but I follow the living world installments and have a great guild (the same guys and girls I’ve been playing with since GW1) so the social aspect makes the game so much better. I’ve even met a few of them in real life since we’ve known eachother for about 6 years now.

      • Mehster
        December 22, 2014

        That’s nice, I’ve made some good friends from playing it too, sadly I’ve lost contact with them now but Guild Wars was just built for teamwork and cooperation that it made it such an enjoyable experience playing with others.

      • mathie
        December 22, 2014

        Are you still playing GW2? Are you on the American or European megaserver? I know I’m going to be waiting for the new living world update in January. If you are on the European server maybe I’ll see you around. 🙂

      • Mehster
        December 22, 2014

        I was convinced to move to an American server before the megaserver update as that was where one of my friends had been playing but I haven’t played it for a while now, I’m really hoping there will be an expansion like with the original series for some fresh permanent content. I do like the living story though!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2014 by and tagged , .
